What does Om namah shivaya mean?

Om namah shivaya mean?

santosh Gairola   By   santosh |     Last updated : 13 March 2019

What does om namah shivaya mean?

Om Namah Shivaya is a powerful mantra glorifying Lord Shiva and invoking the inner consciousness within the chanter. The Mantra means I bow down to eternal auspiciousness.

Introduction of Om Namah Shivaya

Om Namah Shivaya is a Panchakshari mantra; its continuous repetition brings happiness, positivity, wealth, health and hope.

Om Namah Shivaya mantra consists of five syllables.

  • Na ( Earth Prithvi Tattva)
  • Ma ( water Jal Tattva)
  • Shi (Fire Agni Tattva)
  • Va (Air Vayu Tattva)
  • Ya (space Akasha Tattva)
The mantra is a part of the Yogic culture, as Shiva is also referred to Adiyogi which means first Yogi.

Sages chant the divine mantra Om Namah Shivaya to get liberated from the concept of Maya (illusion); the Mantra also helps them to get connected with the supreme reality for accepting eternal love, truth, and blissfulness.

Understanding What does om Namah Shivaya mean?

Lord Shiva is the major lord in the Hinduism based on Trinity which includes Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheshwara. Shiva is Maheswara in the Trinity.

Om Namah Shivaya mantra is a highly powerful mantra; it has the self-healing power. The concept of self-healing mode comes under the medical term neuroplasticity.

Yogis and Sanyasis are known for their neuroplasticity mode. The auspicious mantra Om Namah Shivaya is attached to your various energy channels.

These energy channels are known as Nadis. There are 72000 Nadis inside our body each has a distinct function.

The Mantra Om Namah Shivaya helps in stimulating these energy channels. Once energy is excited within us, it flows from the lowest energy channel to the highest energy channel meeting all the necessary junction points within our body known as Chakras.

What does om namah shivaya mean Keep reading to know the benefit

Spinal cord plays a vital role in activating these Chakras. It is the only reason why beginner yogis are advised to keep their spinal cord straight during the chanting of Namah Shivaya in the meditation.

Lord Shiva is the supreme Consciousness who resides within every living being in the form of energy. Humans can invoke Consciousness within and open their third eye.

It is the place which is the highest energy point within us. Lord Shiva is that inner self within us who resides with goddess Shakti there.

The third eye means your pineal gland; Awakening the third eye gives you the strength to have inner as well as outer vision.

The third eye plays a vital role in producing and managing the inner energy and controlling the Chakras.There are seven primary chakras in our body referred to Kundalini.

Activating your Kundalini means switching your third dimension and exploring the beyond.

1 - Muladhara chakra

Muladhara Chakra is in the base of your spine in the coccygeal region, and the human mind is a part of it; this chakra which will help you to overcome the first element which is earth.

2 - Swadhisthana Chakra

Swadhisthana chakra is in the sacrum of your body.

If you get enable to awake your Swadhisthana Chakra; you will able to overcome water element.

Swadhisthana chakra helps you to manage creativity, fluidity, and fertility.

3 - Manipura Chakra

Manipura chakra is at the human navel.

Manipura chakra helps you to control your thoughts; Awakening this chakra will help you to understand your inner universe.

4 - Anahata Chakra [ heart chakra, Hriday Chakra ]

Anahata is in the chest and controls thymus.

Anahata chakra is in the heart, and it is related to the immune system. Anahata chakra helps to release stress and govern reverence.

5 - Vishuddha Chakra [ Throat Chakra ]

This chakra is located in the throat and related to your thyroid gland.

Awakening this chakra will govern your communication skill; you will be able to communicate with anyone in this universe through universal vibrations.

6 - Aagya Chakra [ Third eye Chakra ]

The Aagya chakra is in your Kapaal (forehead) which governs Pituitary gland, spine, and lower brain.

Aagya chakra will help you to overcome the Light element.

You will be able to sense the events and time; you will be able to visualize the events.

7 - Sahasrara Chakra [ crown chakra, Aatm-Jagriti chakra ]

Sahasrara chakra is at the peak of your head; Place where Brahmins put their ponytail.

Sahasrara chakra governs your Central nervous system, spine, and brain; It is the central point of the energies because Shiva Shakti meets there.

Awakening Sahasrara chakra is a dominant process; It can make you time traveler and understand god particle completely (higher consciousness).

What are the benefits of Om Namah Shivaya Chanting?

There are several kinds of Scientific, Spiritual and health benefits of chanting Om Namah Shivaya.

Chanting Om Namah Shivaya sweats out all kind of impurities, hankering, fears, and anxieties.

Here are the 11 Ultimate Benefits of chanting Om Namah Shivaya

Chanting Om Namah Shivaya is way towards perennial joy.

Om namah Shivaya

  • Divine Mantra makes you feel light inside your heart.
  • Your creativity will get enhanced by Chanting of mantra.
  • Chanting Om Namah Shivaya improves body metabolism.
  • Shiva himself becomes the protector of the mantra Chanter.
  • Shiva makes you free from the fear of Karma.
  • Benefits of chanting Om Namah Shivaya is that it is a sin destroyer mantra.
  • Chanting divine mantra will help you to become optimistic.
  • Chanting Om Namah Shivaya helps you to conquer your senses.
  • The chanting of Om Namah Shivaya opens the body Chakras.
  • The Chanting Om Namah Shivaya opens the door for Atman cosmic nectar.
  • Chanting Om Namah Shivaya 108 time is more beneficial for your mental, physical, spiritual and economic health.


In this post, we have explained What does om Namah Shivaya mean? If you liked the post, please feel free to share it on the web.

Your single share will help many people to get What does om Namah Shivaya mean and how they can get benefited by the chanting of the auspicious mantra.

We will be thankful for your kindness.

Sharing is Caring.

Read More
why Shiva smoke Marijuana, chillum, Ganja, weed
When Apasmaar provoked Shiva [ Natraj the Dancing Shiva ]
  Follow by Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Add comment Via Viyali Networks